[ skip to content ]

Department ofPolitical Science & Geography

More Information about this image

Sections: topographic map from 1891 and a close-up of a Thomas Benton painting

Main Office

Department Chair

Dr. Jonathan Leib

    Professor & Chair
    7002 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3841
  • jleib@odu.edu

Fiscal Technician

Jessie Hobbs

    Office Manager
    7000 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4643
  • jhobbs@odu.edu

Senior Secretary

Vinecia Bunch Parraway

    Assistant Office Manager
    7000 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3841
  • vparrawa@odu.edu

Administration

Chief Department Advisor & Director, Geography

Nicole Hutton Shannon

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    7012 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3841
  • nhuttons@odu.edu

Chief Departmental Advisor, Political Science

Joshua Zingher

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    7016 BATTEN ARTS AND LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-6036
  • jzingher@odu.edu

Director, Graduate Program in International Studies (GPIS)

Regina Karp

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    7047 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5702
  • rkarp@odu.edu

Director, Bachelor of Arts in International Studies (BAIS)

Timothy Kidd

    SENIOR LECTURER
    7004 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3855
  • tkidd@odu.edu

Director, Model United Nations

Aaron Karp

    Lecturer & Director of Model UN
    7006 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3848
  • akarp@odu.edu

Pre-Law Advisor

Full-Time Faculty

Francis Adams

Dr. Tom Allen

    Professor
    7020 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-6059
  • tallen@odu.edu

Tom Chapman


Dr. Michael Clemons

    Professor & Director of the Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnicity
    7034 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3858 Ext. 6841
  • mclemons@odu.edu

Matthew DiLorenzo

    Assistant Professor
    7010 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3934
  • mdiloren@odu.edu

Nicole Hutton Shannon

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    7012 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3841
  • nhuttons@odu.edu

Aaron Karp

    Lecturer & Director of Model UN
    7006 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3848
  • akarp@odu.edu

Regina Karp

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    7047 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5702
  • rkarp@odu.edu

Athena M. King

    Assistant Professor
    7014 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3859
  • a1king@odu.edu

Timothy Kidd

    SENIOR LECTURER
    7004 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3855
  • tkidd@odu.edu

Michelle M. Kundmueller

    Assistant Professor
    7025 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-6060
  • mkundmue@odu.edu

Dr. Jonathan Leib

    Professor & Chair
    7002 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3841
  • jleib@odu.edu

Hua Liu

Richard W. Maass

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    7046 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4044
  • rmaass@odu.edu

Benjamin Melusky

    Assistant Professor
    7018 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-6273
  • bmelusky@odu.edu

Georg Menz

    PROFESSOR
    7040 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4915
  • gmenz@odu.edu

Bismarck Myrick

    AMBASSADOR IN RESIDENCE & LECTURER
    7044 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3805
  • bmyrick@odu.edu

Jesse Richman


Jennifer Whytlaw

    Assistant Professor
    7035 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3857
  • jwhytlaw@odu.edu

Cathy Wu

    ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
    7042 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5786
  • xwu@odu.edu

Joshua Zingher

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    7016 BATTEN ARTS AND LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-6036
  • jzingher@odu.edu

Adjunct and Associated Faculty


Site Navigation

Presidential Inauguration

ODU commemorated the inauguration of President Brian O. Hemphill, Ph.D., during Homecoming Weekend 2022. Relive the historic weekend.

Fall Open House

It's time to fall in love with ODU! Join us for our last Open House event of the semester on Saturday, November 19.

Commencement 2022

Visit the Commencement Office for information on event times, caps & gowns, tickets and more!