[ skip to content ]

More Information about this image

AUA 2017 Vice Presidents Panel. photo by David B. Hollingsworth/ODU

J. Worth PickeringAdministrator of the Year

Established in the 1990-1991 academic year, the AUA J. Worth Pickering Administrator of the Year Award is designed to the recognize the overall body of work of an administrative/professional faculty member at the University. Originally called the Administrator of the Year Award, it was renamed after J. Worth Pickering, AUA's first president and one of its founding members, in 2000.

Nominations are sought every spring semester and are submittted electronically through this website. We look forward to receiving your nominations.

AUA J. Worth Pickering Administrator of the Year Award

The Association of University Administrators (AUA) seeks nominations for the annual J. Worth Pickering Administrator of the Year Award.

The objective of this award is to recognize an Administrative/Professional Faculty Member's overall body of work at the University. Please include specific descriptions/evidence of how your nominee exceeds expectations of an administrator in each of the following categories listed below.

The nomination should address the nominee's overall body of work at the University. Supporting letters and documentation are encouraged.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, February 17, 2023. Nominations shall be submitted online at the AUA website (see the Submit Your Nomination tab).

The chair of the selection committee is:

Liz Smith
AUA President-Elect

Final selection will be made by a committee of former administrator of the year award recipients.


Nominees must:

  • Be designated by the University to be an AP Faculty member.
  • Have a body of work that support each of the categories listed below.

Any AP Faculty member, regardless of position title, may be nominated for this award.

If you are unsure about your nominee's eligibility, please call Human Resources at (757) 683-3042 for clarification.

Criteria for the AUA J. Worth Pickering Administrator of the Year Award:

The nominee should demonstrate outstanding performance in each of the following areas:

    • Evidence of major contributions that have made an impact on either the campus community or the off-campus community.
    • Evidence of leadership, irrespective of administrative position; advocacy for students and/or staff; contributions to morale; improvements of processes and procedures; motivational, inspirational leadership style.
    • Evidence that the nominee has excelled in presentations, publications, teaching, research, continuing education and/or recognition by professional organizations which benefited the University.
    • Evidence of any outstanding qualities not categorized above.

Steps for Nomination Submission:

  1. You may draft your nomination using this template.
  2. Once complete, submit the official nomination using the nomination form.
  3. Up to three support letters and/or supporting documentation (e.g. news articles) may be submitted using the nomination form. Either the primary nominator, another colleague/supporter, or nominee may use the nomination form to submit the optional supporting materials.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, February 17, 2023 by 11:59pm.

  • 1991 - Pete Goldsmith - Dean of Students
  • 1992 - Clare Silva - Director of Academic Skills
  • 1993 - Jan Smith - Associate Director of Career Management Center
  • 1994 - Maggie Curry Williams - Executive Officer for Student Affairs
  • 1995 - Judy Bowman - Executive Officer for Academic Affairs
  • 1996 - GW Thompson - Director of Academic Advising
  • 1997 - Catherine Austin - University Controller
  • 1998 - David Hager - Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • 1999 - Anne Raymond Savage - Associate Vice President for Lifelong Learning
  • 2000 - Marty Sharpe - Director of University Planning and Institutional Research
  • 2001 - Bob Fenning - Vice President for Administration and Finance
  • 2002 - Betty Diamond - Director of Financial Aid
  • 2003 - Alice McAdory - Director of Admissions
  • 2004 - Sandy Waters - Director of Undergraduate Services
  • 2005 - Edie Barnett - Interim Vice Provost for Distance Learning
  • 2006 - Bill McMahon - Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • 2007 - Nancy Bagranoff - Dean of the College of Business and Public Administration
  • 2008 - Leigh Butler - Director of Teacher Education Services and Advising
  • 2009 - Terrell Perry - Center for Learning Technologies
  • 2010 - Terri Mathews - Assistant Dean of the College of Sciences
  • 2011 - Glenda Humphreys - Vice President for Human Resources
  • 2012 - J. Worth Pickering - Assistant Vice President for Institutional Research and Assessment
  • 2013 - Lisa Mayes - Assistant Dean Academic Enhancement
  • 2014 - Jim Duffy - Associate Vice President Academic Affairs
  • 2015 - Jenny Foss - Director of Student Health Services
  • 2016 - Don Stansberry - Associate Vice President and Dean of Students Student Engagement and Enrollment Services
  • 2017 - Renee Olander - Associate Vice President for Regional Higher Education Centers
  • 2018 - Beth Esinhart - Director of Interdisciplinary Studies - Teacher Preparation Program
  • 2019 - Tisha Paredes - Assistant Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment
  • 2020 - Scott Harrison - Associate Vice President for Administration in Student Engagement & Enrollment Services
  • 2021 - Connie Merriman - Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs - Strome College of Business
  • 2022 - Jane Dané - Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management

Site Navigation

Presidential Inauguration

ODU commemorated the inauguration of President Brian O. Hemphill, Ph.D., during Homecoming Weekend 2022. Relive the historic weekend.

Fall Open House

It's time to fall in love with ODU! Join us for our last Open House event of the semester on Saturday, November 19.

Commencement 2022

Visit the Commencement Office for information on event times, caps & gowns, tickets and more!