[ skip to content ]

More Information about this image

You Visit Tour. Webb Lion Fountain. June 1 2017. Photo David B. Hollingsworth

Excellence Applauded at Academic Year Close Awards Ceremony

The 2012-13 academic year has come to a close, and Old Dominion University's Frank Batten College of Engineering and Technology has recognized its achievers, both among the ranks of its students and faculty.

At the College awards on April 30, Dean Oktay Baysal said it was a year for the entire College to be proud of.

"We have students in multiple disciplines who are achieving at the highest levels, taking a back seat to no one in the state. We have faculty doing groundbreaking, collaborative research that is being recognized worldwide. I am proud to have led this College for more than a decade," Baysal said.

Faculty and staff received Excellence Awards for their contributions to the College:

Excellence Award in Teaching - Nathan Luetke, senior lecturer in engineering technology

Excellence Award in Research - Dean Krusienski, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering

Excellence Award in Advising - Stacie Ringleb, assistant professor of mechanical engineering

Excellence Award in Engagement - Rafael Landaeta, associate professor of engineering management and systems engineering

Excellence Award in Support Operations - June Blount, program support technician, mechanical and aerospace engineering

Students of the Batten College received Faculty Awards, chosen by instructors in their program. These awards were highly competitive:

Faculty Award in Aerospace Engineering - Brayler Gonzalez

Faculty Award in Civil Engineering - Elijah Soto

Faculty Award in Computer Engineering - Josiah Smith

Faculty Award in Electrical Engineering - Kyle Redman

Faculty Award in Engineering Management and Systems Engineering - Katherine Palacio Salgar

Faculty Award in Civil Engineering Technology - Christopher Zabrosky

Faculty Award in Electrical Engineering Technology - Zane MacNaughton

Faculty Award in Mechanical Engineering Technology - Michael Crawford

Faculty Award in Mechanical Engineering - Laura Benson, Julie Choisne

Faculty Award in Naval Science - Roberto Piedra

Faculty Award in Modeling, Simulation and Visualization Engineering - Tyrell Gardner, Rifat Aras

There were also College-wide awards presented to student achievers:

Faculty Award for Academic Excellence in Engineering Technology - Daniel Boudreaux

Faculty Award for Academic Excellence in Engineering - Tyrell Gardner

Lee M. Klinefelter Award for Overall Excellence in Engineering Technology - Michael Fussell

J. Harold Lampe Award for Overall Excellence in Engineering - Spencer Lan

Site Navigation

Experience Guaranteed

Enhance your college career by gaining relevant experience with the skills and knowledge needed for your future career. Discover our experiential learning opportunities.

Academic Days

Picture yourself in the classroom, speak with professors in your major, and meet current students.

Upcoming Events

From sports games to concerts and lectures, join the ODU community at a variety of campus events.