[ skip to content ]

More Information about this image

You Visit Tour. Webb Lion Fountain. June 1 2017. Photo David B. Hollingsworth

Radyushkin, Michaeli are ODU's 30th and 31st SCHEV Outstanding Faculty Award Winners

By Brendan O'Hallarn

Two Old Dominion University faculty members will be among 12 recipients of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia's 2017 Outstanding Faculty Awards.

Anatoly Radyushkin, professor and eminent scholar of physics, and Jennifer Michaeli, assistant professor of engineering technology, are Old Dominion's 30th and 31st winners of the prestigious award. Since 1987, the SCHEV Outstanding Faculty Awards have honored faculty at Virginia's institutions of higher learning who exemplify the highest standards of teaching, research and service.

Michaeli was recognized in the "rising star" category by SCHEV.

"I am elated that Dr. Anatoly Radyushkin and Dr. Jennifer Grimsley Michaeli won the highest honor bestowed on faculty at Virginia's public and private colleges and universities," said Austin O. Agho, the provost and vice president of academic affairs at Old Dominion.

"Having two of our most talented and energetic faculty members win this coveted award in the same year is truly remarkable. I commend both of them for their exceptional work ethic and superior accomplishments in teaching, research and service."

Old Dominion ranks second in the state, trailing only the College of William & Mary, in its number of SCHEV winners.

Nominees are selected by the institutions and reviewed by a panel of peers, and the winners are chosen by a final selection committee. In all, 97 professors were nominated this year, slightly more than last year. The field was narrowed to 28 finalists and then to the 12 recipients.

Radyushkin has had a joint position with Old Dominion's Department of Physics and the Jefferson Lab in Newport News since 1992. He is an internationally recognized theoretical physicist, focusing on nuclear and particle physics. He has written more than 120 peer-reviewed publications and made major research contributions to pioneering studies in quantum chromodynamics.

"I am very grateful to SCHEV for this prestigious award," Radyushkin said. "I am extremely happy that it adds to the list of Old Dominion University achievements. I am extremely thankful to my colleagues at the Physics Department and Jefferson Lab for creating an excellent and inspirational research environment, and to the ODU administration for initiating and maintaining the support of this research collaboration."

Charles Sukenik, chair of the Department of Physics, noted with pride that it is the third year in a row that an Old Dominion physicist has won the SCHEV Outstanding Faculty Award. Radyushkin follows Charles Hyde in 2016 and Gail Dodge in 2015.

"We are delighted that Anatoly has been recognized by SCHEV for his all-around excellence," Sukenik said. "He is an internationally renowned theoretical nuclear physicist, a great teacher at both the undergraduate and graduate level, and a wonderful colleague in the department."

Michaeli is a relatively new faculty member at Old Dominion, having arrived at the University in 2012. Since then, however, she has received more than $3 million in grants for her naval engineering research, from such funding partners as the Office of Naval Research, Department of Defense and the shipbuilding industry.

Michaeli has 18 years' experience as a naval engineer in government and industry, working closely with military forces to identify operational gaps, explore operational and technical requirements for future needs, develop advanced technology systems to address challenging operational requirements, and field new capabilities.

She said the Rising Star Award is a tremendous honor, and the recognition needs to be shared with many supporters of marine and naval engineering.

"I am very proud to represent ODU for this award and grateful to those across the University, the Navy and the marine industry for their mentorship and support, not only for me, but for our shared vision to establish a vibrant hub for marine-centric research and academics right here in Hampton Roads," Michaeli said.

"This an exceptional achievement for Jenny, the College and Old Dominion," said Stephanie Adams, dean of the Batten College of Engineering and Technology. "It recognizes Jenny's leadership and contributions in the areas of naval architecture and marine engineering, along with her impressive record in teaching, research, service and outreach. This type of recognition is particularly important to advancing the College and University's efforts in these important research thrusts."

SCHEV Outstanding Faculty Award recipients come from large and small institutions throughout the Virginia, both two- and four-year institutions, private and public. Their fields of expertise range from physics to communications. All exemplify the highest level of scholarship, teaching, mentoring, public service and research.

"For 31 years, the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia has been honored to recognize the best in scholarship with these awards," said SCHEV Director Peter Blake. "This year's 12 inspiring recipients continue that proud tradition, befitting the Commonwealth's long history of higher education."

The Outstanding Faculty Awards are overseen by SCHEV and presented in partnership with the Dominion Foundation, which has fully funded the program since 2005. The recipients will be honored at a luncheon Feb. 16 at The Jefferson Hotel in Richmond. Each will receive an engraved award and $5,000 underwritten by the Dominion Foundation, the philanthropic arm of Dominion Resources. Dominion is the parent company of Dominion Virginia Power.

Before the event, the recipients will be introduced on the floor of the General Assembly.

"We are proud to be a part of this outstanding program to salute great educators in Virginia," said Hunter A. Applewhite, president of the Dominion Foundation. "The devotion and passion of the individuals recognized today helps to strengthen our communities and inspire the next generation of leaders."

The following are Old Dominion's previous SCHEV outstanding faculty winners:

2016: Charles Hyde, Physics

2015: Gail Dodge, Physics

2014: Carolyn Rutledge, Nursing

2012: Steve Yetiv, Political Science

2011: Mark Butler, Biological Sciences

2009: Lawrence Hatab, Philosophy; Lawrence Weinstein, Physics

2008: Bridget Anderson, English; Shaomin Li, Business Management

2007: John Adam, Mathematics and Statistics

2006: Donald Zeigler, Political Science and Geography; Sharon Raver-Lampman, Early Childhood, Speech Language Pathology and Special Education

2005: Katharine Kersey, Early Childhood, Speech Language Pathology and Special Education; Cynthia Jones, Ocean, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

2004: Charles Wilson, English

2003: Sheri Reynolds, English

2002: Janet Peery, English

2001: Sushil Chaturvedi, Mechanical Engineering; Dwight Allen, Educational Curriculum and Instruction

2000: John Toomey, Music

1999: Daniel Dauer, Biological Sciences; Chris Drake, Political Science and Geography

1997: Dana Heller, English

1996: William Stanley, Engineering Technology

1995: Helen Rountree, Sociology and Criminal Justice

1994: Nancy Bazin, English

1993: Michele Darby, Dental Hygiene and Dental Assisting

1992: Gregory Selby, Mechanical Engineering

1991: Karen Polonko, Sociology and Criminal Justice

Site Navigation

Experience Guaranteed

Enhance your college career by gaining relevant experience with the skills and knowledge needed for your future career. Discover our experiential learning opportunities.

Academic Days

Picture yourself in the classroom, speak with professors in your major, and meet current students.

Upcoming Events

From sports games to concerts and lectures, join the ODU community at a variety of campus events.