[ skip to content ]

More Information about this image

You Visit Tour. Webb Lion Fountain. June 1 2017. Photo David B. Hollingsworth

ODU Faculty, Administrators Recognized at Annual Awards Dinner

By Brendan O'Hallarn

President John R. Broderick lauded the efforts of award-winning, promoted and retiring Old Dominion University faculty during the annual Faculty Awards and Retirement Dinner May 3.

Broderick said the faculty's work enabled the University's continued success in scholarship, teaching and graduating the largest spring commencement class in Old Dominion history.

"We wouldn't have these points of pride without you as educators, leaders and mentors," Broderick said. "As evidenced by those in attendance this evening, our high-achieving faculty seek rewarding and relevant academic and service opportunities while at the University."

Broderick and interim Provost Chandra de Silva presented awards and retirement recognition to faculty from every Old Dominion college.

The Virginia Outstanding Faculty Award was presented to Charles Hyde, professor and Eminent Scholar of physics. He was selected from among six finalists.

Ling Li, professor and chair of information technology and decision sciences, received the A. Rufus Tonelson Faculty Award.

The Old Dominion University Alumni New Faculty Award was presented to Eric Walters, assistant professor of biological sciences.

The Faculty Research Award was shared by two Old Dominion researchers, Kenneth Mopper, professor of chemistry and biochemistry, and Li Xu, professor and Eminent Scholar of information technology and decision sciences.

The Teaching with Technology Award went to Rachel Schroeder, lecturer of biological sciences. Chris Glass, assistant professor of educational foundations and leadership, won the Provost's Award for Leadership in International Education.

The other honors and recipients were:

The Provost's Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentor - Narketta Sparkman-Key, assistant professor of counseling and human services.

The Adjunct Faculty Award - David Carney of accounting.

The Doctoral Mentoring Award - Ghaith Rabadi, associate professor of engineering management and systems engineering.

The Excellence in Graduate Teaching Award - Alex Gurevich, professor of physics.

The Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Awards - Elizabeth Rasnick of information technology and decision sciences, for classroom teaching, and Amit Kulkarni of mechanical and aerospace engineering, for laboratory supervision.

The Kate Broderick Award for Excellence in Inclusive Education - Vaughan Frederick, lecturer of women's studies.

The New Adviser of the Year Award - Sherri Watson in student success coaching.

The Advising Administrator of the Year Award - to David McMillan of Distance Learning.

The Faculty Adviser of the Year Award - Jeffrey Toussaint, lecturer of criminal justice.

The Excellence in Advising in the Primary Role Award - Trey Mayo, program manager of modeling, simulation and visualization engineering.

The J. Worth Pickering Administrator of the Year Award - Don Stansberry, dean of students and associate vice president for student engagement and enrollment services.

The Association of University Administrators Monarch Professional Award - Shanna Wood, program manager for the Master of Business Administration program.

The evening concluded with recognition for extensive faculty service to the University, and with a tribute to the University's more than 40 retiring faculty and administrators. President Broderick paused the proceedings to recognize Provost de Silva, himself retiring after nearly 30 years at the University.

"He is known for his administrative acumen and collegiality," Broderick said. "He inspired undergraduate and graduate students with his popular courses on Portuguese and African history and the history of South Asia. He was also a strong advocate of senior faculty teaching general education courses, and led in this instance by example.

"Please join me in congratulating Chandra, and all of our faculty retirees."

Site Navigation

Presidential Inauguration

ODU commemorated the inauguration of President Brian O. Hemphill, Ph.D., during Homecoming Weekend 2022. Relive the historic weekend.

Fall Open House

It's time to fall in love with ODU! Join us for our last Open House event of the semester on Saturday, November 19.

Commencement 2022

Visit the Commencement Office for information on event times, caps & gowns, tickets and more!