[ skip to content ]

More Information about this image

You Visit Tour. Webb Lion Fountain. June 1 2017. Photo David B. Hollingsworth

Old Dominion University Alumni Association Announces Alumni Honors

The Old Dominion University Alumni Association (ODUAA) will present its 2015 Distinguished Alumni honorees at the Old Dominion University Alumni Honors Dinner on Thursday, Oct. 15. These awards are given annually to graduates who have brought extraordinary honor to Old Dominion University through distinction in their fields.

This year, ODUAA will recognize J. Morgan Davis '72, president and chief banking officer of TowneBank; the Hon. Aubrey Layne '97, Secretary of Transportation for the Commonwealth of Virginia; Nicole S. M. Stuart '92, president of Top Guard Security; and Alfred A. Roberts '09, president of Southside Virginia Community College (SVCC).

The event will also celebrate Joanne Ivy '72, president and CEO of the American Egg Board, with the Outstanding Achievement Award, the highest honor given by the ODUAA. This award is given to graduates who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in their profession and are recognized as leaders in their fields.

The Honorary Alumni Award, given in recognition of outstanding and meritorious service, will be given to two recipients: W. Sheppard "Shep" Miller III, chairman of the board for KITCO Fiber Optics and President and CEO of Light Tech Fiber Optics; and Charles "Chad" Edward Hugo, American multi-instrumentalist and record producer.

Finally, the event will recognize Joe Carter '86, vice president of business development and marketing at United Educators, with its Service Award. The Service Award recognizes individuals who demonstrate exemplary leadership and significant service to community, state and nation.

The Old Dominion University Alumni Association traces its roots to the University's beginnings as the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary.

The school was founded in 1930. After the concerted effort of a number of the College's first four-year graduates, the groundwork for the present Old Dominion University Alumni Association was established. In 1957, a formal alumni organization was created and its first leadership team created. In 1985, in order to better serve the needs of the University, the association reestablished its independent, incorporated status.

The current Alumni Association Board of Directors represents more than 130,000 alumni in all states and 76 countries worldwide. Through the Board's active leadership, the Alumni Association has established a number of programs to connect alumni and students to the University and each other, including chapters, career networking panels and events to support ODU Athletics. The Alumni Association also annually awards the Adam Thoroughgood Scholarship, which recognizes top students; and the Tonelson Award, which recognizes outstanding teaching, research and service among faculty.

The Old Dominion University Alumni Honors Dinner will be held at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott. To attend, or become a sponsor, please contact the Office of Alumni Relations at 757.683.3097 or odualumni@odu.edu.

Site Navigation

Experience Guaranteed

Enhance your college career by gaining relevant experience with the skills and knowledge needed for your future career. Discover our experiential learning opportunities.

Academic Days

Picture yourself in the classroom, speak with professors in your major, and meet current students.

Upcoming Events

From sports games to concerts and lectures, join the ODU community at a variety of campus events.