[ skip to content ]

Directory:English

More Information about this image

English header

Directory

Interim Chair

Associate Chair

Associate Chair of Writing Studies



Chief Departmental Advisor

Ph.D. Graduate Program Director

MFA Graduate Program Director



MA Graduate Program Director

Applied Linguistics Graduate Program Director

Director of English Teacher Education



Director of General Education Composition

Director of General Education Literature

Director of the Writing Center



Director of Writing Placement & Support

Advisor, IDS Integrative Studies

Internship Coordinator

lauren-coldiron

Lauren Coldiron

Internship Coordinator
4034 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
NORFOLK, VA 23529
mcold001@odu.edu



Office Manager, Program Support Technician Sr.

Advisor, IDS Professional Writing

Banner Tech



Graduate Program Specialist

Receptionist & Administrative Assistant



Professors


Luisa A. Igloria

PROFESSOR
    Ph.D. University of Illinois at Chicago

    Biography:

    During her term as 20th Poet Laureate of the Commonwealth of Virginia (2020-22), Emerita, the Academy of American Poets ...View More

Drew Lopenzina

PROFESSOR
    Ph.D. University of New Hampshire

    Biography:

    Drew Lopenzina is professor of Early American and Native American literature. His work has appeared in the journals American ...View More

John McManus

PROFESSOR
    M.F.A. The University of Texas at Austin

    Biography:

    John McManus is the author of four books of fiction: Stop Breakin Down, Born on a Train, Bitter Milk, and his latest story collection, ...View More

David Metzger

DEAN, HONORS COLLEGE
    M.A. Hebrew College

    Biography:

    Dr. David Metzger came to Old Dominion University in 1993 after teaching at Montana State University. He earned a B.A. in English and ...View More

Manuela Mourao

PROFESSOR
    Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Charles Wilson

Professor
    Ph.D. University of Georgia
    ROOM 267 VA BEACH HIGHER ED CTR
  • VIRGINIA BEACH, VA 23453
  • 757-368-4117
  • cwilson@odu.edu

Alla Zareva

PROFESSOR
    Ph.D. University of Georgia
    5046 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4042
  • azareva@odu.edu


Associate Professors


Bridget Anderson

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    Ph.D. University of Michigan

    Biography:

    Dr. Bridget L. Anderson is an Associate Professor of Applied Linguistics and the Director of Tidewater Voices: An Oral History and ...View More

Kristi Costello

Associate Professor

    Biography:

    Kristi Murray Costello, Ph.D. is the Associate Chair of Writing Studies and General Education and an Associate Professor of Rhetoric, ...View More

Staci Defibaugh

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Kevin DePew

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    Ph.D. Purdue University
    4042 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4019
  • kdepew@odu.edu

Michelle Fowler-Amato

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    Ph.D. The University of Texas at Austin

Kevin Moberly

Associate Professor
    Ph.D. University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Dr. Alison Reed

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara
    4054 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4770
  • arreed@odu.edu

Daniel P. Richards

Associate Professor
    Ph.D. University of South Florida

Julia Romberger

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    Ph.D. Purdue University

Marc Ouellette

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    B.E. Ontario Institute for Studies in Education at the University of Toronto


Assistant Professors


Rosaleen Keefe

Assistant Professor
    5005 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5473
  • rkeefe@odu.edu

Margaret Konkol

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
    Ph.D. State University of New York University at Buffalo
    4046 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5694
  • mkonkol@odu.edu

Amy M. Lindstrom

Assistant Professor
    Ph.D. The University of New Mexico

Ruth Osorio

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
    3045 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-6984
  • rosorio@odu.edu

Jeremy Saks

Assistant Professor
    4044 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4029
  • jsaks@odu.edu

Don Rodrigues

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR

Kent Wascom

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
    5016 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3928
  • kwascom@odu.edu

Molly McCully Brown

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
    5042 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3928
  • mmbrown@odu.edu


Master Lecturers


Kathleen Fowler

    MASTER LECTURER
    5034 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4035
  • kfowler@odu.edu

Princess Perry

    MASTER LECTURER
    5044 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4015
  • pperry@odu.edu

Beth Backes

    MASTER LECTURER
    5036 BATTERN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5306
  • bbackes@odu.edu

Elizabeth J. Vincelette

    Master Lecturer
    2008 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3997
  • ejvincel@odu.edu

Jenn Sloggie

    MASTER LECTURER
    5004 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4018
  • jsloggie@odu.edu

Mary Beth Pennington

    Master Lecturer and Director of Writing Placement and Support
    3032 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4114
  • mpenning@odu.edu


Senior Lecturers


Laura Buchholz

Alicia Defonzo

    SENIOR LECTURER
    4040 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4037
  • adefonzo@odu.edu

Michelle Heart

    SENIOR LECTURER
    8045 BATTEN ARTS & LETTER
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4022
  • mheart@odu.edu

Aj Nolan

Mary Porter-Troupe

    SENIOR LECTURER
    4034 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4044
  • mtroupe@odu.edu

Virginia Tucker

    Senior Lecturer
    5034 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4035
  • vmtucker@odu.edu

Peter Adams

    SENIOR LECTURER
    4040 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4037
  • padams@odu.edu

Megan Boeshart

    SENIOR LECTURER
    1208 B PERRY LIBRARY
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4013
  • mboeshar@odu.edu


Lecturers


Matthew Beale

    LECTURER
    4034 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3991
  • mbeale@odu.edu

Steffani Dambruch

    Lecturer
    3030 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4045
  • sdambruc@odu.edu

Kole Matheson

    Lecturer
    3030 BATTEN ARTS & LETTER
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4045
  • kmatheso@odu.edu

Jackie Mohan

    LECTURER
    5002 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3991
  • jmohan@odu.edu

Heather Weddington

    Chief Departmental Adviser
    5006 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4036
  • hwedding@odu.edu

Tracy Rice Weber

    LECTURER
    BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23509
  • 757-683-3991
  • triceweb@odu.edu


Instructors


Kathryn Bennett

    INSTRUCTOR
    5045 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4038
  • kcbennet@odu.edu

Kelly Morse

    Instructor
    5040 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3019
  • klmorse@odu.edu

Steffani Dambruch

    Lecturer
    3030 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4045
  • sdambruc@odu.edu


Adjuncts/Graduate Teaching Assistants/Research Assistants


Special Appointments

Site Navigation

Presidential Inauguration

ODU commemorated the inauguration of President Brian O. Hemphill, Ph.D., during Homecoming Weekend 2022. Relive the historic weekend.

Fall Open House

It's time to fall in love with ODU! Join us for our last Open House event of the semester on Saturday, November 19.

Commencement 2022

Visit the Commencement Office for information on event times, caps & gowns, tickets and more!