

# A. Rufus Tonelson '33 Faculty Award

The Old Dominion University Alumni Association invites nominations for candidates for the A. Rufus Tonelson Faculty Award. The award seeks to recognize members of Old Dominion's faculty who demonstrate outstanding achievement in teaching, research, and service to the community. The Tonelson Award looks to acknowledge well-rounded faculty members who embody the balance of all three areas through their work at the University. All faculty members under full-time teaching and research contracts in the fiscal year of the award are eligible.

First Name:	Middle Initial:
	_
	_
	Zip:
_ E-mail Address:	
Title:	
E-mail Address:	
FOR NOMINATIONS March	h 2, 2016:
ackage with the subject line ' odualumni@odu.edu	"Tonelson Award Submission" to:
sical copy of the entire nomin Kristyn Danson Office of Alumni Relations y M. Kornblau Alumni Cente Old Dominion University Norfolk, VA 23529 757-683-3097	
	State: E-mail Address: Title: E-mail Address: E-mail Address: E-mail Address: State: State: Title: Title: Title: Title: Title:  State:  State:   Sical copy of the entire nomir  Kristyn Danson Office of Alumni Relations y M. Kornblau Alumni Cente Old Dominion University Norfolk, VA 23529

## Nomination Package Requirements – A. Rufus Tonelson '33 Award 2015

For the information requested in the section below, please utilize 8.5" x 11" white paper (single-sided) with the nominee's name and your name at the top of each page. Narrative form utilizing complete sentences is recommended, providing specific examples for the selection committee's consideration whenever possible. The nominator is responsible for providing one electronic copy and one physical copy including all supporting materials by the due date. Please provide phone and e-mail contact information for each individual submitting information. <u>Please note that nomination packets larger than 20 pages will not be accepted.</u>

- 1. Nomination form provided
- 2. Letter of nomination
- 3. Personal statement from nominee about how the nominee believes he or she demonstrates integration of the components: teaching, research, and service
- 4. Letter of support from the nominee's department chair or dean (unless one of these is nominator)
- 5. Letter documenting nominee's embodiment of each of the award's three areas: teaching, research/scholarly activities, and service (not to exceed one page in length)
- 6. Two testimonials from either current or former students
- 7. Curriculum vitae
- 8. A photo of the nominee (may be submitted via e-mail with the nominee's name in the subject line to kdanson@odu.edu)

**Teaching -** Evidence of excellence in teaching from recognition by supervisors, colleagues, students, and/or alumni. Should include examples of positive influences on lives or careers due to the nominee's teaching, innovation, or curriculum development.

**Research/Scholarly Activities -** Evidence of publications in biographical format. Should include examples of major funded grants, publications, or research which has significantly impacted the nominee's field of study.

**Service -** Evidence of notable service contributions which have significantly influenced both the on- and off-campus communities.

## **Eligibility**

All Old Dominion University faculty members under full-time teaching and research contracts for the current fiscal year are eligible for nomination. Previous recipients are ineligible. *Those nominees not selected for the award in 2016 may be considered for a subsequent year's award based on the completion of an updated nomination package*.

The nomination packet must be completed and delivered to the Office of Alumni Relations **no later than** March 2, 2016 at 5:00 P.M.

### A. Rufus Tonelson '33 Award History

The award is named for the late A. Rufus Tonelson '33, one of the first three students to enroll at Old Dominion University when it was founded in 1930 as the Norfolk Division of the College of William and Mary. Dr. Tonelson was a loyal alumnus, professor emeritus, former university administrator, and benefactor of the university.

The award consists of a framed certificate, a \$2,000 award, and a non-reserved parking decal for one year. It is presented to a faculty member at the annual Faculty Awards Ceremony held each spring. It acknowledges the recipient's achievement and excellence in teaching, research, and service in their work at Old Dominion University.

#### A. Rufus Tonelson '33 Faculty Award Recipients

- 1978 Dr. Richard Tersine (Management) Dr. Louis H. Henry (Economics) Ms. Patricia S. Moschel (Nursing)
  1979 - Dr. Charles H. Haws (History & Scottish Studies)
- 1980 Dr. S. Eliot Breneiser (Music)
- 1981 Mr. Kenneth G. Daley (Art)
- 1982 Dr. John Fahey (Foreign Languages)
- 1983 Dr. Gennaro L. Goglia (Mechanical

Engineering and Mechanics) Dr. Daniel E. Sonenshine (Biological Sciences)

- 1984 Dr. Katherine Clark Kersey (Child Study/Special Education)
- 1985 Dr. Raymond H. Kirby (Psychology)
- 1986 Dr. Harold G. Marshall (Biological Sciences)
- 1987 Dr. John C. Ludwick (Oceanography)
- 1988 Dr. Helen Yura (Nursing)
- 1989 Dr. Robert Lee Kernell (Physics)
- 1990 Dr. Thomas Cash (Psychology)
- 1991 Ms. Michele Darby (Dental Hygiene)
- 1992 Dr. Paul A. Dicklin (Speech Communication)
- 1993 Dr. Allen K. Clark (Chemistry)
- 1994 Dr. Chuh Mei (Aerospace Engineering)
- 1995 Dr. Maurice R. Berube (Educational Leadership & Counseling)
- 1996 Dr. Surendra N. Tiwari (Mechanical Engineering)
- 1997 Dr. Nina W. Brown, MSED '68

- 1998 Dr. Daniel M. Dauer '70(Sciences)
- 1998 Dr. Janis V. Sanchez-Hucles (Psychology)
- 1999 Dr. Sushil K. Chaturvedi (Mechanical Engineering)
- 2000 Dr. Charles E. Wilson, Jr. (English)
- 2001 Dr. Duc T. Nguyen (Engineering)
- 2002 Dr. Taj O. Mohieldin (Engineering)
- 2003 Dr. Lindsay L. Rettie (Community Health)
- 2004 Dr. Ravindra P. Joshi (Electrical & Computer Engineering)
- 2005 Dr. Robert Gable (Early Childhood Education, Speech Pathology & Special Education
- 2006 Dr. Gary E. Copeland (Physics)
- 2007 Mr. Michael T. Zugelder (Finance)
- 2008 Dr. Barbara R. Bartkus (Business Administration)
- 2009 Dr. Edward P. Markowski (Information Technology & Decision Sciences)
- 2010 Ms. Lynne Tolle (Dental Hygiene)
- 2011 Dr. Garrett J. McAuliffe (Counseling & Human Services)
- 2012 Dr. Mohammad Najand (Finance & Business Administration)
- 2013 Dr. Lawrence J. Hatab (Philosophy)
- 2014 Dr. Lawrence B. Weinstein (Physics)
- 2015 Dr. Sheri Colberg-Ochs (Human
- Movement Sciences)