[ skip to content ]

Department ofWorld Languages & Cultures

Directory


Chair's Office


Department Chair

Office Manager


Elizabeth Black Ph.D.

    ASSOCIATE PROF & INTERIM CHAIR
    4002 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5663
  • eblack@odu.edu

Natalie Lempert

    Office Manager
    4004 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS BLDG
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-6689
  • nlempert@odu.edu

Arabic


Mr. Shadi Bayadsy PhD

    SENIOR LECTURER
    4006 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5101
  • sbayadsy@odu.edu

Rana Quraid

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • rquraid@odu.edu

Chinese


Zhongtang Ren Ph.D.

    MASTER LECTURER
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5242
  • zren@odu.edu

French


Peter Schulman Ph.D.

    PROFESSOR
    4020 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3323
  • pschulma@odu.edu

Elizabeth Black Ph.D.

    ASSOCIATE PROF & INTERIM CHAIR
    4002 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5663
  • eblack@odu.edu

Betty Rose Facer

    MASTER LECTURER & DIRECTOR, LANGUAGE LEARNING CENTER
    4022 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4455
  • bfacer@odu.edu


Rodolphe Lequeux

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • rlequeux@odu.edu

Laetitia Stone

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • lsstone@odu.edu


Susan Wansink Ph.D.

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • swansink@odu.edu

Warren Warsaw

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • wwarsaw@odu.edu

Ouafaa Zouali

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • ozouali@odu.edu

German


Kerstin Steitz Ph.D.

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5475
  • ksteitz@odu.edu

Hebrew


Michael Panitz

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    8000 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS BLDG
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3949
  • mpanitz@odu.edu

Italian


Antonella O'Neal

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23509
  • 757-683-3973
  • aoneal@odu.edu

Japanese


Michiko Kaneyasu PhD

    Assistant Professor
    4053 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5010
  • mkaneyas@odu.edu

Minori Marken

    SENIOR LECTURER
    4013 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4567
  • mmarken@odu.edu

Naoki Shikimachi

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • nshikima@odu.edu

Kumiko Gale

Rina Okada


Latin


Nathan Owens

    Study Abroad Coordinator
    2006 DRAGAS HALL
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-6128
  • nowens@odu.edu

Russian


IRINA Dolgaleva

Maria Grise

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • mgrise@odu.edu

Spanish


Marialuisa Alfaro

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • malfaro@odu.edu

Fermin Garcia

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • fgarcia@odu.edu

Andrew Gordus PhD

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    4016 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4319
  • agordus@odu.edu

Luis Guadano Ph.D.

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    4018 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5741
  • lguadano@odu.edu

Angelica Huizar Ph.D.

    Professor & Chair
    5002 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3928
  • ahuizar@odu.edu

Helen Kent-Pegram

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • hkentpeg@odu.edu

Christine Mitchell

    LECTURER
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3377
  • cjmitche@odu.edu

Carolina Molina-Martin

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • cmolinam@odu.edu

Maria Padilla MA

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • mpadilla@odu.edu

Maria Roy

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • mroy@odu.edu

Paula Alvaro Sanchez

    LECTURER
    4038 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-7103
  • palvaros@odu.edu

Carla Sefcik

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • csefcik@odu.edu

Prof. Elena Vera Guerrero

    LECTURER
    4021 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-6372
  • everague@odu.edu

World Cultural Studies


Lee Slater PhD

    MASTER LECTURER
    4045 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5183
  • lslater@odu.edu

Claire Cooper

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973
  • cecooper@odu.edu

Lane Dare

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTERN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3991
  • ldare@odu.edu

Gabriela Toletti Ph.D.

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    4001 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3973 Ext. 3620
  • gtoletti@odu.edu

Thomas Yuill

    ADJUNCT INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY
    5000 BATTEN ARTS & LETTERS BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3991
  • tyuill@odu.edu

Site Navigation

Presidential Inauguration

ODU commemorated the inauguration of President Brian O. Hemphill, Ph.D., during Homecoming Weekend 2022. Relive the historic weekend.

Fall Open House

It's time to fall in love with ODU! Join us for our last Open House event of the semester on Saturday, November 19.

Commencement 2022

Visit the Commencement Office for information on event times, caps & gowns, tickets and more!