[ skip to content ]

University Presents Kaufman Prize, Broderick-Evon Awards

Robert Dice, a disabled veteran and human services graduate, received the Kaufman Prize, the highest honor given to a graduating Old Dominion student, during the annual Student Honors and Awards Dinner on Thursday, May 8.

The Broderick-Evon Award, created by President John R. Broderick and his wife, Kate, to recognize students who have given their time, knowledge and hearts to make the ODU community a better place, was shared by two graduating seniors, Saige Hill and Benjamin Ipson.

Dice, who graduated from ODU with a 4.0 grade point average, had a 25-year service career as a firefighter, paramedic and U.S. Navy SEAL before arriving enrolling at the university. Following his departure from the Navy, Dice worked for the U.S. State Department, providing protection to President Hamid Karzai of Afghanistan.

While at ODU, Dice continued his service, serving as president of the Tau Upsilon Alpha Human Services Honor Society, volunteering at Seton Youth Shelters in Virginia Beach and serving as vice chair of the Serenity on the Shore Committee. He also mentors 15 men struggling with substance abuse, who are obtaining treatment in Virginia Beach and Williamsburg. These experiences helped solidify Dice's clinical and research interests in post-traumatic stress disorder, substance abuse and the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered population.

Dice cited Tammi Milliken, associate professor of counseling and human services, as his most inspirational faculty member. "I admired Dr. Milliken's enthusiasm and ability to challenge her students. Her relentless work ethic and focus has constantly inspired me to do my best," Dice said.

As winner of the Kaufman Prize, Dice received a $10,000 cash award. First runner-up for the award, Ashley Baldwin, a political science graduate, also received a cash prize. Other Kaufman Prize finalists included Daniel Hendrix, Christina Kanu, Yvonne Kienast and Lauren Shifrin.

Following Kaufman's example, all of the nominees demonstrated sustained participation in leadership of campus or community groups, an outstanding record of volunteer activities or academic achievement, or the achievement of a major task affecting the campus or community.

The Kaufman Prize Selection Committee interviews nominees and recommends to President Broderick those to be chosen for the Kaufman Honors and the one person who is to receive the Kaufman Prize.

For sharing the Broderick-Evon Award, Hill and Ipson each received a $1,500 honorarium. The other finalists for the award, Connor Norton, Kyle Francis, Karen Hayde and Sean McNeil, each received a $400 honorarium.

As an expression of pride in the thousands of ODU students who have passionately given their time, knowledge and hearts to helping build the ODU community, the Broderick-Evon Award for Community Engagement and Service is of special significance to ODU's first family. It is named in honor of the mothers of John and Kate Broderick.

Creating the Broderick-Evon Award builds on the foundation for student success that has been a chief goal of Broderick's since he became ODU's eighth president in 2009. Through family donations, it guarantees a minimum $3,000 award each year to an ODU student, or students, who embodies the community spirit of Ellen Broderick and Joan Evon.

Site Navigation

Experience Guaranteed

Enhance your college career by gaining relevant experience with the skills and knowledge needed for your future career. Discover our experiential learning opportunities.

Academic Days

Picture yourself in the classroom, speak with professors in your major, and meet current students.

Upcoming Events

From sports games to concerts and lectures, join the ODU community at a variety of campus events.